Shopping cart
Tourism
Filters
R
Points of Interest
Streets and Squares
Rua da Olaria
Rua da Olaria (Pottery Street), in Lamego, owes its name to the artisanal activity that once existed there, linked to the working of clay and the production of pottery pieces. This past gives the street a strong connection to local traditions and the community life of yesteryear. Currently, Rua da Olaria preserves its typical atmosphere, maintaining the charm of a space that evokes the city’s collective memory. It is a place where Lamego’s artisanal history is reflected in its very urban identity, inviting a careful look at the intangible heritage that marked generations.
I
Points of Interest
Churches and Monuments
Igreja de Santa Maria de Almacave
Built near an Arab necropolis (macab – from which the name Almacave derives), this religious temple is a Romanesque construction (12th century) that was profoundly altered, especially in the 17th century, as evidenced by the tile panels with geometric and plant motifs, the pulpit, and the gilded woodcarving. From the primitive Romanesque style, the pointed arch portal with four archivolts stands out, with the most extensive one bordered by a checkered band. In the 18th century, the altars were enriched with tiles and gilded woodcarvings. Also noteworthy, in its interior—a single nave without a transept and with a chancel—are the tiles on the walls and choir, the pulpit built in 1600, and the sculptures of St. Joseph and St. Anthony, in 18th-century upholstered wood. History says that the first Cortes (parliamentary assembly) of the Kingdom of Portugal were held at the Church of Santa Maria de Almacave in the year 1143. Even today, the evocation of this assembly, in which D. Afonso Henriques, the first King of Portugal, was acclaimed and invested, is one of the symbols of Lamego’s historical past.
O
Points of Interest
Statues and Busts
O Lamego
This is undoubtedly one of the most famous statues in the city of Lamego. Placed atop the fountain of the same name, it depicts a warrior in a haughty posture, wearing a helmet, holding a halberd in his right hand and a shield bearing the arms of Lamego in his left. The base bears the inscription Lamego. It is a well-executed work carved from the hard granite of the region and has always aroused curiosity. It is an integral part of the monumental fountain, and its history is therefore associated with it.
B
Points of Interest
Museums
Biblioteca Municipal de Lamego
The building that now houses the Lamego Municipal Library was the Palácio Mesquitela, a former manor house that later served as the headquarters of Caixa Geral de Depósitos and, after renovation works, became the library. It is an example of 17th-century architecture, linked to the Mesquitela family, and an important local cultural landmark. The origins of the Lamego Public Municipal Library date back to the late 19th century. The Viscount Guedes Teixeira, a major supporter of the Lamego Library, expressed the intention of maintaining a library in his municipality. Cassiano Neves was the main driving force behind a Popular Education Association, which included a Popular Library with 1,400 books, and is considered the principal founder of the Lamego Public Municipal Library. The Lamego Municipal Library is a dynamic space that offers, in addition to book lending and free Internet access (Wi-Fi), an online catalogue for research, reading promotion activities, guided tours, and research support. Its operations focus on the development of readers and civic participation, with a collection comprising more than 12,000 works.
M
Points of Interest
Squares and Public Areas
Mercado Municipal de Lamego
The Lamego Municipal Market began operating on July 25, 1981. Its main objective was to supply the county seat with fresh products, given the difficulty at the time of serving the urban population with this type of product. It consists of three floors, with floors one and two used for the Market’s operation and floor three, until recently, occupied by the Hotel School, although its future use has not yet been defined. The opening hours for the public, from Monday to Saturday, are from 7:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. The busiest day for the market is Thursday, which coincides with the weekly fair. On this day, the Market exceptionally receives numerous producers who find a place there to sell their horticultural and fruit products. Considering that no requalification works have been carried out in that space for more than 25 years, the Lamego City Council will carry out an intervention for the revitalization and dynamization of the Lamego Municipal Market, in order to, on the one hand, comply with legal food safety requirements, and on the other hand, increase the attraction capacity of this space. The physical rehabilitation of the Municipal Market will be complemented with the training and modernization of commercial operators, regarding product display, customer service, sales techniques, conservation and maintenance of the guarantee of products sold, and the offer of value-added services – home deliveries, ATM payments, etc. Dissemination and promotion actions will also be developed, in order to lead the population to create the habit of going to the Municipal Market – to buy quality food products (fresh fruits and vegetables, fish and meat, flowers, bread, cheeses, sausages, sweets), particularly those of a traditional and regional nature.
R
Points of Interest
Streets and Squares
Rua Porta do Sol
Rua Porta do Sol, in Lamego, is one of the city’s most emblematic streets, located in an old urban area that reveals the historical and cultural heritage of the municipality. Its name evokes a symbolic connection to light and the horizon, referring to the importance of the space in urban daily life. Along the street, you will find traditional architectural buildings that bear witness to the evolution of the urban fabric over the centuries. Walking along Rua Porta do Sol is also walking through a part of Lamego’s identity, where history and contemporary life harmoniously intersect.
S
Points of Interest
Churches and Monuments
Santuário de Nossa Senhora dos Remédios
On the site where the main chapel of Our Lady of Remedies was erected, there was a small hermitage, built by order of Bishop D. Durando in 1361, dedicated to Saint Stephen. In 1568, the Bishop of Lamego, D. Manuel de Noronha, authorized the demolition of the old hermitage and, on the site where the Courtyard of the Kings is currently located, ordered another one to be built under the invocation of Our Lady of Remedies. This chapel was also eventually demolished to build the current Sanctuary, whose first stone was laid in 1750, on the initiative of Canon José Pinto Teixeira. The Sanctuary building is a Baroque-style construction entirely made of granite, captivating with the elegance of its style, imposed by the creativity of the project’s author, believed to have been Nicolau Nasoni. The gilded woodwork is from the 18th century. The retable of the main chapel is a standout with its framing, forming an original piece within Portuguese carvings. At its center is the image of Our Lady of Remedies. Also noteworthy are the side altars of St. Joachim and St. Anne. Inside the temple, you can also admire beautiful tile panels, as well as interesting stained-glass windows that enrich the walls of the main body and the chancel. The frontispiece of the Sanctuary is the most admirable part of the entire building, fascinating all who stop to admire the brilliance and creative genius evident there. All the elegantly refined granite ornaments are magnificent. In the churchyard, on the south side, there is a harmonious fountain, entirely sculpted in regional granite, designed by Nicolau Nasoni and dated 1738. (see Fountains). Raised on the landing where the last steps of the staircase end, in the churchyard in front of the temple, you can see the monolithic cross with very fine ornaments. The author of the book "History of the Cult of Our Lady of Remedies in Lamego," Canon José Marrana—an essential and indispensable work for anyone who wants to better know the Sanctuary, Staircase, and Remedies Park—considers this piece "the wonderful crown of the entire staircase work, which stands out and dominates by the delicacy of its lines and its sculptural design." The two towers—with a project by the architect Augusto de Matos Cid—were started much later. The one on the south side began construction in 1880, with the tower on the north side only being completed in 1905. The main staircase began in 1777, but the works were not finished until the 20th century. The most magnificent part of the staircase is undoubtedly the "Courtyard of the Kings"—an admirable architectural work, centered on the Fountain of the Giants, from which a splendid obelisk rises, about 15 meters high. This courtyard is surrounded by several statues representing the last 18 names of the house of David. Also notable are the two porticos that provide side access to this large square. (see Artistic Treasures). Also worth mentioning is the Courtyard of Our Lady of Lourdes or of Jesus, Mary, Joseph, which contains a chapel that its founder dedicated to the Holy Family. Later, the Brotherhood had the image of Our Lady of Lourdes placed there. Above the door of the beautiful chapel is the coat of arms of Bishop D. Manuel de Vasconcelos Pereira, its builder. In front of this chapel is the Mermaid Fountain, whose name comes from the fact that it is adorned with a sculpture of a triton riding a dolphin—a figure that to the average visitor resembles a mermaid. Also on the staircase is the monumental Fountain of the Pelican, made of carved granite. The sculpture of the pelican in this fountain is particularly interesting (see Fountains). The afforestation of the park, the grotto, as well as the lake and bridge, were commissioned by the Brotherhood from the Horticultural Company of Porto in 1898. The grotto at the back was built in 1910 by an artist from Arneirós. The park, crisscrossed by several paths and with various nooks with picnic tables, has a wide variety of tree species, such as: yews, cypresses, Judas trees, acacias, linden trees, poplars, beeches, oaks, eucalyptus, elms, strawberry trees, chestnut trees, and many others.Opening hours may vary according to the schedule of Masses, celebrations, and other religious events.
H
Points of Interest
Statues and Busts
Homenagem ao Soldado Desconhecido
Erected in memory of the dead of the Great War, it was inaugurated in 1932. Subsequently, two plaques were added: one in 1954, in tribute to the dead of Dadra, and another, placed by the veterans of the Great War in honor of those who died in that conflict. Another plaque, made of white marble, mentions the high decorations that the R.I. 9 of Lamego received for its bravery demonstrated in France during the First Great War (1914/18), especially at the Battle of Neuve Chapelle. The enormous proportions of the statue and its central location have, since its construction, generated some controversy. However, in general, the monument instills special respect among Lamego residents and sparks some curiosity in visitors.
S
Points of Interest
Statues and Busts
Statues of the ‘Whisper’
Located in Lamego’s reception room, in the central flowerbed of the Visconde Guedes Teixeira Garden, the sculptures were donated to the city by one of its most illustrious sons, Dr. João de Almeida, similar to those placed in the lakes on Avenida Dr. Alfredo de Sousa. These two statues, created by the Porto School of Fine Arts, represent two female figures holding two pitchers, from which streams of water pour into the large lake where they are located. The lady on the right seems to be whispering something to her companion, hence the popular name ‘whispering statues’.
S
Points of Interest
Statues and Busts
Statue of D. Miguel of Portugal (Bishop of Lamego)
This monument was inaugurated in 1951 in honour of the bishop ambassador, D. Miguel de Portugal. The statue is the work of Madeiran sculptor Francisco Franco. D. Miguel de Portugal was born in Évora, the son of D. Luís de Portugal, Count of Vimioso, and D. Joana de Mendonça, Countess of Basto. He was bishop of Lamego from 1635 to 1644, the year of his death. A year after the Restoration of Independence, in 1641, he was sent to Rome by D. João IV with the aim of presenting to Pope Urban VIII the reasons that justified the king’s claim to the throne of Portugal. Although he was never received by the Pope, he faced the intrigues of Spanish diplomacy with great courage and heroically resisted an ambush carried out by agents in the pay of the King of Castile who wanted to assassinate him.
B
Points of Interest
Statues and Busts
Bust of the poet Fausto Guedes Teixeira
This bust, unveiled in 1944, honours the Lamego poet Fausto Guedes Teixeira. It was designed by Rui Couto and António Couto and sculpted by Costa Mota Sobrinho. Fausto Guedes Teixeira, son of Viscount Guedes Teixeira, was born in Lamego in 1871. After completing his studies at Lamego High School, he enrolled at the University of Coimbra, where he graduated in law. His admirable lyricism was already evident when he published ‘Náufragos’ (Shipwrecked) at the age of just 18. In 1893, he published ‘Mocidade Perdida’ (Lost Youth), followed in 1894 by ‘O Livro do Amor’ (The Book of Love), which would definitively establish the poet’s reputation. His time in Coimbra was marked by his delightful improvisations, which enchanted a romantic generation. In 1899, he published ‘Esperança Nossa’ (Our Hope) and ‘Carta de um Poeta’ (Letter from a Poet). He spent some time in Brazil, where he hoped to pursue his career, but returned ill and homesick. In 1906, he published Almas Tristes (Sad Souls) and in 1908 O meu Livro (My Book), which contains his best verses. Visitors to Penedo da Saudade, in Coimbra, can see a tombstone commemorating the poet, with one of his verses.
C
Points of Interest
Churches and Monuments
Chagas’ Church
The Church of the Chagas, also known as the Church of the Monastery of the Chagas, is located in Lamego and stands as one of the city’s most significant religious heritage sites. It was originally part of the Monastery of the Chagas, founded in 1588 by the Bishop of Lamego, D. António Teles de Menezes, for nuns of the Order of Saint Clare. Today, the church is the only surviving structure of the former convent and is classified as a Property of Public Interest. Its façade features a Renaissance portico flanked by classical columns. Inside, the single‑nave interior is richly decorated with 17th‑century tiles, gilt woodwork and Baroque altarpieces, notably those dedicated to Saint John the Evangelist and Saint John the Baptist. The ceiling and other internal structures, including former choir areas and the sacristy, further enhance its artistic and historical value. Owned by the Santa Casa da Misericórdia de Lamego, the Church of the Chagas has undergone restoration works that highlight its artistic heritage and is open for religious services and cultural events.Open for religious worship and hosts important events.
C
Points of Interest
Castle & Cistern
Cistern of Lamego
The Cistern of Lamego is a remarkable example of a medieval cistern located near the Castle of Lamego, in the historic Bairro do Castelo area. It is a large, rectangular vaulted water reservoir built of stone blocks, featuring a ribbed ogival vault supported by robust bands and pillars. It is considered one of the finest examples of castle cisterns in Portugal.Following rehabilitation work, the site was adapted for public visits and transformed into an exhibition space that invites visitors to explore the urban history of Lamego. The interior includes interpretive features that combine images, sounds, and everyday historical memories.The cistern is part of the heritage ensemble of Lamego Castle, which is classified as a National Monument, and forms an integral component of the fortified area that shaped the historical development of the city.During summertime, closing time changes to 6 p.m.
C
Points of Interest
Churches and Monuments
Chapel of the Holy Spirit
The Chapel of the Holy Spirit is a small and unique religious building located in the centre of Lamego, next to the Holy Spirit Fountain, on Rua das Canastras. The chapel was rebuilt in the 16th century by Bishop Manuel de Noronha, whose coat of arms can be found on the outside of the building, marking his intervention and his role in the religious history of the city. The interior of the chapel is small but features a remarkable decorative artistic ensemble. The main highlight is an 18th-century sculpture of the Holy Spirit by an unknown artist, which is located on the high altar and is of particular interest to visitors. In addition to the central sculpture, the space displays Baroque altarpieces, including an elegant altar on the Gospel side, a pulpit covered in gilded woodcarving and walls decorated with 17th-century tiles, which enrich the interior and reflect the Baroque aesthetics of the period.
R
Points of Interest
Parks and Gardens
Republic’s Garden
The Jardim da República is an iconic public green space located in the historic centre of Lamego, in the district of Viseu, next to the Town Hall and close to other points of interest in the city. This garden occupies an area with a natural slope between the streets that border it and is accessible via a staircase covered with traditional blue and white tiles, which are one of the most characteristic visual elements of the site. Historically, the garden originated in the old Campo do Tablado, a public space opposite the Convento das Chagas, founded in the 16th century. The area has been transformed over time into the garden we know today. Also in this area, next to the garden, is the well-known ‘O Lamego’ fountain, originally built in 1830 and later reinstalled on the hillside of the garden.
V
Points of Interest
Streets and Squares
Visconde Guedes Teixeira Avenue
Visconde Guedes Teixeira Avenue is one of the main urban arteries of the city of Lamego, conceived in the early twentieth century during a period of significant urban modernisation. Its construction resulted from a plan to reorganise the urban fabric, aiming to replace narrow and irregular streets with broader, more representative avenues, adapted to the needs of traffic and to the city’s growing socio-economic importance. The avenue is named in honour of José Augusto Guedes Teixeira, 1st Viscount of Guedes Teixeira (1843–1890), one of the most prominent figures in Lamego’s political and administrative life in the late nineteenth century. A lawyer, businessman and Mayor of Lamego, the Viscount was a driving force behind local progress, promoting urban reforms and advocating the modernisation of the city within the context of a rapidly changing country. Along the avenue there are also several elements of heritage and symbolic interest, notably two statues that form part of Lamego’s collective memory. The statue of the Cochicho, a popular figure associated with everyday life and local traditions, evokes the more human and popular side of the city and is often interpreted as a tribute to ordinary people and to stories passed down orally through generations. In contrast, the Unknown Soldier monument has a more solemn and evocative character, paying tribute to those who lost their lives in the service of their country, particularly in the context of the First World War. This monument serves as a place of remembrance and reflection and is the setting for commemorative ceremonies and tributes, reinforcing the historical and civic value of the avenue. Thus, Visconde Guedes Teixeira Avenue stands not only as an important urban and functional thoroughfare, but also as a space of identity, memory and historical representation of the city of Lamego, where modernity, tradition and civic remembrance intersect.
Page 1 of 2